English » ERASMUS+ » Erasmus+ International Mobility

Erasmus+ International Mobility 

Under Erasmus+ International Mobility programme, a University in a Partner Country can send its students, doctoral candidates or staff to a partner HEI in a Programme Country, and vice versa. Students or doctoral candidates are able to study abroad for a limited period of 3 to 12 months for which credits are obtained. Similarly, staff can spend a teaching and/or training period abroad for up to 2 months.

The Erasmus+ programme refers to 'Programme Countries' and 'Partner Countries'. Programme Countries are those countries participating fully in the Erasmus+ programme. To do so, they have set up a National Agency and contribute financially to the programme.

The 33 Programme Countries are the 28 EU Member States and Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey.

Partner Countries, are other countries in the world, grouped together in different regions. For more, see at http://ec.europa.eu/programmes/erasmus-plus/about_en#tab-1-1

Before the mobility activity can take place, institutions from Partner Countries must sign an Inter-institutional agreement with institutions from Programme Countries involved. By signing an inter-institutional agreement, the institutions commit themselves to respecting the principles and quality requirements of the Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) relating to the organisation and management of mobility, and agree on a series of measures to ensure high quality mobility. 

Programme Countries institutions are responsible for signing the grant agreements with the participants and administer all grant payments for mobility to Europe ("incoming") and from Europe ("outgoing").