English » ERASMUS+ » Erasmus+ Student Mobility/KA103

Welcome to the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

Studying at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA),  founded in 1837, was the first university in the newly established modern Greek State as well as in the  Balkan and eastern Mediterranean area and it has since played a significant role in fostering academic knowledge and culture throughout the region.

Nowadays, NKUA is among the largest universities in Europe with 33 Departments, 64.807 undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral students, 2.104 teaching staff and 1.087 administrative staff. The various Schools/Departments of the University along with its other services are found:

  • in the University Campus of Zographou region, which contains the majority of University’s Schools/Departments
  • in the area of Goudi where the School of Medicine and the Departments of Dentistry and Nursing are situated and
  • in the center of Athens where the School of Law and other independent Departments are located.

The core of the future  of NKUA is in the development of research and education, the innovation and internationalization. Within this context, the University Authorities place particular emphasis on issues like the globalization and diversification of higher education· the ERASMUS+ exchange programme is considered among the most significant means to achieve this objective.

Under the umbrella of the Erasmus programme the NKUA has established 655 bilateral agreements with more than 330 European Higher Education Institutions with which it exchanges annually an increasing number of students for undergraduate, postgraduate or doctoral studies.  Up to now the  number of the Erasmus incoming students is more than 5.000 and the number of the outgoing students is more than 13.000.